This is an open letter from a ‘very tired Christian’


by Walter Einenkel
John Pavlovitz is a Christian blogger. You can read his work here. A couple of weeks ago he wrote an open letter that began: 
Dear Offended Christian,

I’m terribly sorry that your feelings are hurt again. I feel badly about that. None of us likes to be criticized, so I totally get it.

I know I’ve said some pretty hard words to you recently, and maybe I’ve been somewhat less than “cheery” in my delivery, but that happens when you’re tired.

And I am really tired:

He proceeded to list all of the ways he is tired with the hypocrisy shown by so many people, wrapped up in a cross, who have seemingly forgotten to read the books they proclaim to set their moral compass to.

I’m tired of hearing you telling gay people that they can’t simultaneously be both gay and Christian. 

I’m tired of having to explain what “Transgender” means to adult Christian people, who I’m quite sure have Internet access and should know better by now that it ain’t “a guy in a dress”.

I’m tired of arrogant pulpit bullies who believe they’re entitled to tell people where they can pee and who they can marry and whether they really love Jesus or not.

I’m tired of you regularly dispensing damnation on the queer community, and then offering empty “thoughts and prayers” in the face of tragedy before resuming your normal schedule. 

I’m tired of you being more outraged by red coffee cups and department store restrooms than by poverty and racism and gun violence and our crumbling school system.

The letter is long and powerful and it ends very clearly. He hits the hypocrisy of homophobia and transphobia, racism, and the anti-science sentiments of many Christian groups. 

So I get that your feelings are hurt. I understand that you’re offended, and that’s not my intention. 

But listen, if you’re going to tell a group of people that they’re going to Hell simply for existing, and you’re going to continually target those people through the Church and the Law and your social media accounts, don’t get angry with me when I tell you you’re being hateful and judgmental and ignorant.

It could be worse.At least I’m not damning you for all eternity.

Sincerely,
A Very Tired Christian

Leave a comment