Diddy And Queen Latifiah Announce 2010 BET Awards Nominees

Diddy And Queen Latifiah Announce 2010 BET Awards Nominees: “ Posted by: Flywritergurl

BET is pulling out the red carpet once again for this years BET Awards. The cable network held a press conference today to announce the nominations for the 2010 BET Awards. Announcing the awards were BET President of Music Programing and Special events Stephen G. Hill, Dirty Money, and Queen Latifah who will serve as this years host, taking the reigns from last years MC Jamie Foxx.
‘I got to make sure I do my job, and believe me we are going to have an amazing time this year, this year is going to be so incredible.’ said Latifiah of her role as host. Latifah refused to give up any surprises she has in store for this years show, but she did state that ‘there is no limit to which I will go to make sure that the 2010 BET Awards is the greatest show on earth.’

This years top nominees include Jay-Z who is nominated for five awards, followed by Beyonce, Alicia Keys, Trey Songz, and Melanie Fiona who are all nominated for four awards.

To commemorate the tenth anniversary of the production BET has added a few new categories including Best International Act which features internationally successful artist such as Sade, K’NAAN, and Estelle. They have also introduced the Centric Award where nominees include Monica, Chrisette Michelle and Melanie Fiona and the Young Stars award where Keke Palmer, Williow Smith are Lil JJ are just some of the young starlets nominated.


A few nomineees that may be a surprise to fans are Justin Bieber who is nominated for Best New artist along with Wale, Young Money, and Melanie Fiona, Selena Gomez who is nominated for the Young Stars Award and Esther Dean who is nominated for Best Female Hip Hop Artist.

It seems as if the 2010 BET Awards is also going to be jam packed with performances. Diddy-Dirty Money, Trey Songz, Nicki Minaj, and Drake are just some of the few artist scheduled to hit the stage.  The network is definitely giving fans something to look forward to. During the announcements  Diddy proclaimed that ‘hands down when you look at an awards show from beginning to end the BET awards is the best awards show that’s out there right now.’ Diddy even stated that the release date for the Dirty Money album entitled ‘Last Train To Paris’ will be released at midnight after the award show is over. Diddy also announced that he will be hosting the awards after party which will broadcasted live on BET.

The network is also using this years awards to launch their Music Matters initiative which will showcase groundbreaking up and coming music and talent.  These new acts have been deemed by BET to be the next superstar. Music Matters will also highlight some established artist.  This years show is set to air Sunday June 27, 2010 from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Look out for more info.



Viewers Choice Nominees:
Beyoncé ‘Sweet Dreams’
Jay-Z ‘Empire State of Mind’
Monica ‘Everything To Me’
Rihanna ‘Hard’
Trey Songz Ft. Drake ‘Say Aah’
Young Money ‘Bedrock’

Best Collaboration:
Beyoncé Ft. Lada Gaga ‘Video Phone’
B.o.B. ‘Nothin’ On You’
Drake Ft. Trey Songz ‘Successful’
Drake Ft. Kanye West, Lil Wayne, & Eminem ‘Forever’
Trey Songz Ft. Drake ‘Say Aah’

Best Female Hip Hop Artist:
Ester Dean
Lil Kim
Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip Hop Artist:

Best New Artist:
Justin Bieber
Melanie Fiona
Nicki Minaj
Young Money

YoungStars Award:
Selena Gomez
JJ Lewis
Keke Palmer
Willow Smith
Tyler James Williams

Best Movie:
Law Abiding Citizen
Michael Jackson: This Is It
The Blindside



Best Female R&B Artist:
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona
Alicia Keys

Best Male R&B Artist:
Chris Brown
Raheem DaVaughn
Trey Songz

Best Group:
Black Eyed Peas
The Clipse
Diddy & Dirty Money
The New Boyz
Young Money

Video of the Year:
Beyoncé Ft. Lada Gaga ‘Video Phone’
B.o.B. ‘Nothin’ On You’
Melanie Fiona ‘It Kills Me’
Jay-Z ‘Empire State of Mind’
Jay-Z ‘Run This Town’

Best Gospel:

The Anointed Pace Sisters

Kirk Franklin Presents Artists United For Haiti
Tamela Mann
Marvin Sapp
Vickie Winans

Video Director of the Year:
Benny Boom
Gil Green
Anthony Mandler
Chris Robinson
Hype Williams

Best Actress:
Taraji P. Henson
Regina King
Zoe Saldana
Gaborey Sidibe


Best Actor:
Quinton Aaron
Don Cheadle
Idris Elba
Jamie Foxx
Denzel Washington

Subway Sportswoman of the Year:
Tamika Catchings
Vanessa James
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year:
Carmelo Anthony
Usain Bolt
Kobe Bryant
LeBron James
Tiger Woods

Centric Award:
Melanie Fiona
Chrisette Michele

Best International Act
Kojo Antwi
Dizzee Rascal
Hip Hop Pantsula
Corinne Bailey Rae

(Via .)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s